#FandomFriday: Winter is a Time for Reading

Winter is my absolute favorite time to curl up with a good book. There is nothing as relaxing as lighting a fire, grabbing a cozy blanket, a good cup of tea, and an amazing page turner. Need some book inspiration? I've got some of the best books I've read lately as well as some that are in the queue!




If I Was Your Girl
by Meredith Russo

"A beautifully rendered YA novel . . . the first written by a transgender woman about the transgender teen experience." ―San Francisco Chronicle

I just finished this book a few days ago and I can't seem to shake Amanda Hardy from my mind. She is poignant, modern, and every girls wish to start over in high school; only thing is she isn't just any girl. 




Born A Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood
by Trevor Noah

“What makes Born a Crime such a soul-nourishing pleasure, even with all its darker edges and perilous turns, is reading Noah recount in brisk, warmly conversational prose how he learned to negotiate his way through the bullying and ostracism. . . . What also helped was having a mother like Patricia Nombuyiselo Noah. . . . Consider Born a Crime another such gift to her—and an enormous gift to the rest of us.”—USA Today

I have taken a break from my podcasts to listen to this through my Audible account. There is something about listening to someone's memoir in their own voice that provides them even more power to share their story. This book is worth the purchase based on Chapter 22 alone. Chapters 1-21 provide you a great sense of Naoh's family life and cultural background, but Chapter 22 shows you how to function when your mother is a serious victim of domestic violence. 


We All Looked Up
by Tommy Wallach

“Wallach has created an accessible cast of realistic teens struggling with identity, family, and loyalty… Fans of gritty and apocalyptic fiction won’t be disappointed.” -School Library Journal

I love that the author of this story tells it from multiple perspectives naming each chapter after the individual narrating it. I'm about four chapters in and so in love with the idea that their world is ending, but they are still trying to successfully exist within it. 


Extraordinary Means
by Robyn Schneider

Clever banter, self-deprecating humor and the distinctive characters ensure that this captivating book about life, death, fear, and second chances will fly off the shelves. --Voice of Youth Advocates

Recommended by Refinery29 I was so excited to dig into this book. It was also told in alternating points of view by the two primary characters and proved to be just as I had hoped, wonderful.


Gone, Gone, Gone
by Hannah Moskowitz

“Written with depth and heart and a quirky sweetness that I just adore. These are characters I will never forget. Fans of Will Grayson, Will Grayson will love this book.” –Amy Reed, author of Beautiful and Clean

This next on my reading list! I hope it is as great as I've heard it was! 



Exquisitely Geek

Welcome to Exquisitely Geek! We post every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Please subscribe, to the right, to receive email updates on the blogs posts! We hope to see you again soon - Seven of Ten and A2-D2

No comments:

Post a Comment